The Daily Tea

Amateur Bloggers. Creative Writers

Writing That Inspires Me MOST!

January22

I wouldn’t call myself “well-traveled”…I’m more “sorta-traveled.” To be honest, if it wasn’t for my best friend, Stephanie, or my sweet, brave friend, Sarah, I would have never left the country. Sarah was an English teacher I worked with in Colorado, and she took on the monumental task of taking large groups of students on EF Tours every spring break. My first year teaching in Colorado, Stephanie and I signed up to take the British Literary EF Tour with Sarah and 29 students. It was bananas. I loved every minute of it and all of my fears of traveling abroad melted away. A few years later, I went with Sarah and EF to Spain and it was in Barcelona that I fell in love with the writing that inspires me most–graffiti. Graffiti is a beautiful mix of artistic vision and specific, sometimes passionate, and often hilarious text. The graffiti is Spain is so interesting and there is so much of it that you can find picture books dedicated to the art form in tourist shops and bodega markets on nearly every street corner.

I came home from that trip to Spain with buckets full of inspiration. And even though I only had a thimble full of artistic talent, I set about incorporating the pictures of graffiti I took and the images torn from the graffiti books I bought into my own art journals. I’m not exactly proud of my artwork. It’s definitely not show-quality. But it is a fun way to write about my feelings, experiences, hardships, joys, and all that comes with journaling without all the words. It’s a creative outlet without the pressure of saying it just right.

This is part of the reason I encourage you to draw in your journals. It’s why I have ungodly amounts of art supplies in my classroom.

Now you know.

Florence street scene Chris Beckett via Compfight

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:



Skip to toolbar